The League of Extraordinary Givers is a group of recognized individuals in the Greater Renton/South King County region whose passion for making our community a better place to live is made possible through donations of their time, talent and/or treasure to a variety of non-profit organizations and community projects.

Because of the pandemic, we didn’t have a 2021 group of awardees, but we look forward to doing so in 2022. Below is a list of who we have honored since the program started. 

Lifetime of Giving Award

Given to those who have spent decades leading by example – volunteering on community boards, initiating new ideas, serving on committees, making financial donations, inspiring others to engage and participate, building partnerships, and finding resources to get the job done.

2020 Winners: Lani Cavit; Ted Rodriguez; Judi Schafer
2019 Winners: Mij & Chuck Charbonneau, Doug & Sonja Kyes, Nancy Monahan
2018 Winner: Barb Nilson; Dr. Gary Kohlwes; Norm and Carol Abrahamson
2017 Winner: Jim & Joanne Medzegian; Harry & Janet Blencoe; Linda Middlebrooks
2016 Winners: Jim & Char Baker; Don & Pearl Jacobson; Judy Schroeder
2015 Winners: Alex & Norma Cugini; King Parker; Marcie Maxwell; Pat Auten

Patron of the Year Award

Honors someone who has made a splash recently, perhaps by chairing a campaign, initiating a creative solution, or publicly championing a cause.

2020 Winner: Tom and Karen Easton
2018 Winner: Charlie Conner and Anne Simpson
2016 Winner: The Reverend Dr. Linda Smith
2015 Winner: Dale Walker

Rising Star Award

Meant to recognize the next-generation of community leaders.

2020 Winner: Winter Cashman-Crane
2019 Winner: Chris Fanco
2018 Winner: Dr. Quinton Morris
2017 Winner: Doug Baldwin
2016 Winner: Kevin Poole
2015 Winner: Meegan Prince

Public Spirit Award

Given to recognize organizations and individuals who have successfully brought multiple resources together to meet a variety of needs.

2020 Winner: Robin Abel
2019 Winner: Risho Sapano
2018 Winners: Pam Teal;  Trina Westerlund
2017 Winners: Elizabeth Stewart; Geri Carlson
2016 Winners: Chris Spahn & Shannon Avery
2015 Winners: Karen Bergsvik; Renton Rotary RotaCare: (Valley Medical Center, Renton Rotary, Renton Salvation Army, Bob McBeth, Jim Sullivan and Dr. Bob Thompson)

Luminary Award

Honors an individual who by their very nature, serves as a light of inspiration for others as they strive to make a positive impact in the community.

2019 Winner: Betty Nokes Capestany
2018 Winner: Dr. Dolores Gibbons
2017 Winner: Terry Higashiyama